170, rue Sainte-Anne
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue (Québec) H9X 1N1
Built on an exceptional site, the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal has become a popular destination. Explore its historical features and learn about this site’s prominent role in developing our country’s economy and tourism during the second half of the 19th century.
On land, pedestrians stroll while watching the lock’s operations. With its many green areas and a newly renovated jetty, this Parks Canada site is ideal for picnicking or simply enjoying the view of Lac St-Louis and Lac des Deux-Montagnes. On the water, boaters cross the locks and can even moor to take full advantage of the attractions, restaurants and shops along the canal.
The first canal and the first lock were built between 1840 and 1843. The Government’s wharf at the end of Rue Saint-Pierre was built around 1850 and used by both passenger and cargo boats. Parallel to the old ones, the current canal and lock were renovated between 1875 and 1882 with new holds where citizens could secure their boats.
Numerous passenger ships docked at Sainte-Anne’s, including the Old Field (before 1860), the Prince of Wales (between 1860 and 1869), the Sovereign (from 1889 on) and the Empress (until 1935).
Today, boaters from across the province and the United States visit us every summer and happily borrow that impressive lock that makes us all so proud.
A Sweet Break on Rue Sainte-anne
Saturday Shows at Parc Lalonde